Group Show

The End of Time, The Beginning of Time by Sanja Pahoki

Exhibition Dates: 5 May – 10 June 2017

200 Gertrude Street, Fitzroy, 3065

Gertrude Contemporary is moving. My 'hello' neon is in the last group show for GCAS at 200 Gertrude Street, Fitzroy :-(

Mutlu Çerkez & Marco Fusinato, 'AND' (2003), synthetic polymer paint. Courtesy of the artsist and Anna Schwartz Gallery, Melbourne; photograph by: Mutlu Çerkez and Marco Fusinato

The End of Time. The Beginning of Time. marks and pays tribute to the dense legacy of artistic production in the current building and the communities that have contributed to and formed around it. With over 300 artists having participated in the two-year studio program, and thousands of artists having contributed to the exhibition program, the prospect of developing an encyclopaedic exhibition was all but impossible. Instead, The End of Time. The Beginning of Time. extracts a limited selection of moments from Gertrude’s history to operate as signifiers of the past. These moments will function as an imprecise collage of histories, collapsing time, piquing, layering and contaminating memory.
In instances, works presented in the gallery spaces will be re-presented or restaged in their original position of exhibition. Drawing back to their creation within the studio program from the mid 1980s, some of the works will serve as a historical tracing of what has been produced and presented in the space. Elements from more expansive and ephemeral installations will return to the galleries, reinforcing the role the site, with all of its particular architectural elements and spatial configurations, has played in terms of integration within many of the works themselves. The exhibition will also present a number of new works developed specifically for this locational finale.  

Curated by Artistic Director Mark Feary, the exhibition will feature Marco Fusinato and Mutlu Çerkez, DAMP, Geoff Newton, Emily Floyd, Noriko Nakamura, Anthony Hunt & Stephen Honneger, Nat & Ali, Natalie Thomas, Reko Rennie, Rose Nolan, Blair Trethowan, Mark Hilton, The Telepathy Project, Jon Campbell, Elizabeth Newman, Danius Kesminas, Sanja Pahoki, Helen Johnson, Nicholas Mangan and Damiano Bertoli. 

c3 Contemporary Art Space Annual Fundraiser by Sanja Pahoki


3-11 December, 2016

Faux Studio curated by Jake Treacy

I have a neon artwork that is available for sale at c3 Annual Fundraiser. It would make a great Christmas gift. It can also be used as an environmentally friendly neon Christmas tree (see below). You can then pretend that you are having an all white christmas, if summer gets you down.

Help c3 to support artists.

Faux Studio will feature over 90 significant Australian artists, including: Aaron Christopher Rees, Ace-Ohio Wagstaff, Adam Stone, Adrian Stojkovic, Annabelle Kingston , Antonia Sellbach, Benjamin Woods, Betra Fraval, Brendan Huntley, Bryan Spier, Brigit Ryan, Chronox, Dana Harris, Dane Lovett, Danica Chappell, Darren Sylvester, Dell Stewart, Dylan Palmer, Eleanor Louise Butt, Emma Langridge, Emily Ferretti, Emily Floyd, Emily Raubenheimer, Eugene Howard, Gabriel Curtin, Georgina Cue, Grace Wood, HaHa, Hoang Tran, Ian Wells, Ingmar Apinis, Isobel Knowles + Van Sowerwine, Jake Treacy, James Voller, Jemila Macewan, Jessie Willow Tucker, Jia Jia Chen, Jon Butt, Justin Hinder, Kate Hill, Katie Paine, Kenny Pittock, Kathryne Genevieve Honey, Louise Blyton, Lucas Golding, Masato Takasaka, Matt Fairbridge, Matthew Harris, Melanie Upton, Meredith Turnbull, Miranda Skoczek, Natalie Ryan, N.A.J.Taylor, Neil Shurgold , Nicholas Ryrie, Nicola Page, Nina Gilbert, Olga Bennett, Oscar Yanez, OSW (Terri Bird, Bianca Hester + Scott Mitchell), Peter Atkins, Peter Fifer, Pia Murphy, Pip Ryan, Pippa Mackgill, Rachael Hooper, Rebecca Delange, Renee Cosgrave, Roma Turnbull-Coulter, Ross Coulter, Rudi Williams, Sally Ross, Samantha McCulloch, Sanja Pahoki, Sarah crowEST, Saskiah Doherty, Scarlett Rowe, Sherry McLane Alejos, Simon Attwooll, Simon Macewan, si ma va, Simon Pericich, Sophie Neate, Spencer Lai, Tai Snaith, Travis John, Vivian Cooper Smith, WTOA, Xanthe Waite, and Yvette Coppersmith.

IS / IS NOT by Sanja Pahoki

My 'wow' 2013 work is on at West Space gallery as part of the 'Is / Is not' exhibition curated  by Kiron Robinson. Until 12th March, 2016.

wow (documentation image by Christo Crocker)

Documentation image by Christo Crocker