The End of Time, The Beginning of Time / by Sanja Pahoki

Exhibition Dates: 5 May – 10 June 2017

200 Gertrude Street, Fitzroy, 3065

Gertrude Contemporary is moving. My 'hello' neon is in the last group show for GCAS at 200 Gertrude Street, Fitzroy :-(

Mutlu Çerkez & Marco Fusinato, 'AND' (2003), synthetic polymer paint. Courtesy of the artsist and Anna Schwartz Gallery, Melbourne; photograph by: Mutlu Çerkez and Marco Fusinato

The End of Time. The Beginning of Time. marks and pays tribute to the dense legacy of artistic production in the current building and the communities that have contributed to and formed around it. With over 300 artists having participated in the two-year studio program, and thousands of artists having contributed to the exhibition program, the prospect of developing an encyclopaedic exhibition was all but impossible. Instead, The End of Time. The Beginning of Time. extracts a limited selection of moments from Gertrude’s history to operate as signifiers of the past. These moments will function as an imprecise collage of histories, collapsing time, piquing, layering and contaminating memory.
In instances, works presented in the gallery spaces will be re-presented or restaged in their original position of exhibition. Drawing back to their creation within the studio program from the mid 1980s, some of the works will serve as a historical tracing of what has been produced and presented in the space. Elements from more expansive and ephemeral installations will return to the galleries, reinforcing the role the site, with all of its particular architectural elements and spatial configurations, has played in terms of integration within many of the works themselves. The exhibition will also present a number of new works developed specifically for this locational finale.  

Curated by Artistic Director Mark Feary, the exhibition will feature Marco Fusinato and Mutlu Çerkez, DAMP, Geoff Newton, Emily Floyd, Noriko Nakamura, Anthony Hunt & Stephen Honneger, Nat & Ali, Natalie Thomas, Reko Rennie, Rose Nolan, Blair Trethowan, Mark Hilton, The Telepathy Project, Jon Campbell, Elizabeth Newman, Danius Kesminas, Sanja Pahoki, Helen Johnson, Nicholas Mangan and Damiano Bertoli.